Speak Lord: Guide us…

P1000865 way.jpg

Show us, Lord, the path of life oAlleluia!

Preserve me, God, I take refuge in you.
I say to the Lord: ‘You are my God.
O Lord, it is you who are my portion and cup;
it is you yourself who are my prize.’

Show us, Lord, the path of life oAlleluia!

I will bless the Lord who gives me counsel,
who even at night directs my heart.
I keep the Lord ever in my sight:
since he is at my right hand, I shall stand firm.

Show us, Lord, the path of life oAlleluia!

And so my heart rejoices, my soul is glad;
even my body shall rest in safety.
For you will not leave my soul among the dead,
nor let your beloved know decay.

Show us, Lord, the path of life oAlleluia!

You will show me the path of life,
the fullness of joy in your presence,
at your right hand happiness for ever.

Show us, Lord, the path of life oAlleluia!

Psalm 15:1-2,5,7-11

The Responsorial Psalm at Mass tomorrow puts words of praise and thanksgiving on our lips; and has us confess our trust in the Lord.

It is a song that knows of sorrow and death; knows of fear and loss. But it is a song that knows those are passing things, that have no final purchase on us and our lives.

From God we receive security, freedom and life.

The response we sing as we pray the psalm may be a request for the way of life, the path of life, to made clearer to us, or it may simply be ‘alleluia’, praise of God. The two may seem quite different, quite distinct. But when we are confident of the Lord’s love, even our most urgent asking is an act of praise.

Meteora, Greece. (c) 2006, Allen Morris

One thought on “Speak Lord: Guide us…

Leave a Reply

