Speak Lord: Life giver

DSC09897 Ezekiel.jpg

The Lord says this: I am now going to open your graves; I mean to raise you from your graves, my people, and lead you back to the soil of Israel. And you will know that I am the Lord, when I open your graves and raise you from your graves, my people. And I shall put my spirit in you, and you will live, and I shall resettle you on your own soil; and you will know that I, the Lord, have said and done this – it is the Lord who speaks.

Ezekiel 37:12-14

The first reading at Mass today prepares the way for our hearing of the Gospel of the raiswing of Lazarus.

In that act Jesus demonstrates his power. And he gestures towards the resurrection from the dead, not back to this life but forward into the life of glory, which is first his and then shared with us, drawing us beyond our merely human otential into the life of God himself.

In the meantime, encouraged, we journey on through Lent…

Stained Glass. Tewsksbury Abbey. (c) 2016, Allen Morris

 

One thought on “Speak Lord: Life giver

Leave a Reply

