Taste and See: Secure, even in our dying?

France - December 2004 041.jpg

The Lord is my shepherd: there is nothing I shall want.

The Lord is my shepherd;
there is nothing I shall want.
Fresh and green are the pastures
where he gives me repose.
Near restful waters he leads me,
to revive my drooping spirit.

The Lord is my shepherd: there is nothing I shall want.

He guides me along the right path;
he is true to his name.
If I should walk in the valley of darkness
no evil would I fear.
You are there with your crook and your staff;
with these you give me comfort.

The Lord is my shepherd: there is nothing I shall want.

You have prepared a banquet for me
in the sight of my foes.
My head you have anointed with oil;
my cup is overflowing.

The Lord is my shepherd: there is nothing I shall want.

Surely goodness and kindness shall follow me
all the days of my life.
In the Lord’s own house shall I dwell
for ever and ever.

The Lord is my shepherd: there is nothing I shall want.

Psalm 22:1-6

The Responsorial Psalm at Mass on Sunday, the 4th Sunday of Lent, expresses faith and trust.

Sometimes we rely on these qualities as we deal with teh familiar things of life – but as the psalm acknowledges there are also experiences with which we are less than familiar, which test and strech us in ways that we are not comfortable with. Death, darkness, depresson are but three of these: experiences in life where faith and trust are greatly needed but we often find ourselves bereft of them.

The story of Gethesemene reminds us that in his humanity Jesus himself experienced this want and lack, and yet he found thestrength of will to turn to his Father again and cry of, praying that all should be as God wills. In that will, in that desire he found the way back to faith, to trust…

Pere Lachaise cemetery, Paris. (c) 2004, Allen Morris.

Leave a Reply

