Taste and See: The mercy of God for us

 

40 Agnus Dei

Have mercy on us, O Lord, for we have sinned.

Have mercy on me, God, in your kindness.
In your compassion blot out my offence.
O wash me more and more from my guilt
and cleanse me from my sin.

Have mercy on us, O Lord, for we have sinned.

My offences truly I know them;
my sin is always before me
Against you, you alone, have I sinned;
what is evil in your sight I have done.

Have mercy on us, O Lord, for we have sinned.

A pure heart create for me, O God,
put a steadfast spirit within me.
Do not cast me away from your presence,
nor deprive me of your holy spirit.

Have mercy on us, O Lord, for we have sinned.

Give me again the joy of your help;
with a spirit of fervour sustain me,
O Lord, open my lips
and my mouth shall declare your praise.

Have mercy on us, O Lord, for we have sinned.

Psalm 50:3-6,12-14,17

It is a week since Lent began, with Ash Wednesday and the smearing of ash in the sign of the Cross on our foreheads.

So when on Sunday we sang the psalm above and proclaimed ourselves sinners, we knew that of which we sang!

Hopefully we know also the love of God and that if we repent and ask for his mercy that mercy is assured. God’s mercy is there for us before we repent, and it surely is God’s mercy that helps to repent, for it reminds of the better way of life and love that is God’s.

Psalm 50 seems to have its origins in Israel’s liturgy of covenant-renewal, responding to the call to be at one with God through participation in the Temple cult, but also through the reform of life that the prophets urge Israel to.

We too are called to a new life: called to be healed by God, reconciled with God, and to share in his work of love.

  • What present offences do you know in yourself?
  • What helps do you receive from God to help your reform and renewal?

Happy Lent.

Tabernacle Door. Sayers Common. (c) 2005, Allen Morris

One thought on “Taste and See: The mercy of God for us

Leave a Reply

