Speak Lord: Our help past, present and future

Mercy, Wawel Castle.jpg

Have mercy on us, O Lord, for we have sinned.

Have mercy on me, God, in your kindness.
In your compassion blot out my offence.
O wash me more and more from my guilt
and cleanse me from my sin.

Have mercy on us, O Lord, for we have sinned.

My offences truly I know them;
my sin is always before me
Against you, you alone, have I sinned;
what is evil in your sight I have done.

Have mercy on us, O Lord, for we have sinned.

A pure heart create for me, O God,
put a steadfast spirit within me.
Do not cast me away from your presence,
nor deprive me of your holy spirit.

Have mercy on us, O Lord, for we have sinned.

Give me again the joy of your help;
with a spirit of fervour sustain me,
O Lord, open my lips
and my mouth shall declare your praise.

Have mercy on us, O Lord, for we have sinned.

Psalm 50:3-6,12-14,17

Tomorrow is the First Sunday of Lent, and in the song with which the Church responds to the first reading we acknowledge our sinfulness. This is Lent, and it is the season for confessing our sins and knowing repentence for them.

But the pslam has us do something more: something more which makes us do something not only moral but faithful.

We turn to the Lord, the one Jesus called us to know as Father. And we ask for mercy. Because we ask Abba for mercy we are confident that mercy will be ours.

Our confession of sin moves him and will ensure God will show us fresh evidence of his eternal love.

However, our confession does not so much make God do that which he would not otherwise want to do; rather our confession is fulfilment of his hopes and love for us to date. He has moved heaven and earth that we might trust in him and turn to him. And when we do our life is renewed.

The image above suggests the angels are on our side. It is even more important to know that God is too.

Happy Lent.

Figure, Wawel Castle, Cracow, Poland. (c) 2017, Allen Morris

One thought on “Speak Lord: Our help past, present and future

Leave a Reply

