Taste and See: at home with the Lord

Alhambra-Nazarid Palace VIIIa.jpg

The Lord is my light and my help.

The Lord is my light and my help;
whom shall I fear?
The Lord is the stronghold of my life;
before whom shall I shrink?

The Lord is my light and my help.

There is one thing I ask of the Lord,
for this I long,
to live in the house of the Lord,
all the days of my life,
to savour the sweetness of the Lord,
to behold his temple.

The Lord is my light and my help.

I am sure I shall see the Lord’s goodness
in the land of the living.
Hope in him, hold firm and take heart.
Hope in the Lord!

The Lord is my light and my help.

Psalm 26:1,4,13-14

The Responsorial Psalm at Mass on Sunday had us proclaim the love and care of God, and express our longing for us to be allowed/be able to entrust ourselves always to his tender care.

The psalmist speaks of the temple and the house of the Lord. In our world there have been many glorious temples and palaces, designed to give eloquent expression of the power and glory of the monarch or dynasty that posseses them.

Yet what the psalmist’s most longs for is not a housing upgrade, but a deeper and abiding closeness to the Lord himself. And this is what is offered to us again and again.

  • Take time to pause and rejoice in the Lord’s tenderness and love for you….
  • Give thanks.

Exterior facade of Nazarid Palace at the Alhambra, Granada. Photograph (c) 2014, Allen Morris.

Leave a Reply

