Speak Lord: wake us to your glory

gloryI shall be filled, when I awake, with the sight of your glory, O Lord.

Lord, hear a cause that is just,
pay heed to my cry.
Turn your ear to my prayer:
no deceit is on my lips.

I shall be filled, when I awake, with the sight of your glory, O Lord.

I kept my feet firmly in your paths;
there was no faltering in my steps.
I am here and I call, you will hear me, O God.
Turn your ear to me; hear my words.

I shall be filled, when I awake, with the sight of your glory, O Lord.

Guard me as the apple of your eye.
Hide me in the shadow of your wings
As for me, in my justice I shall see your face
and be filled, when I awake, with the sight of your glory.

I shall be filled, when I awake, with the sight of your glory, O Lord.

Psalm 16:1,5-6,8,15

What is the sleep from which we are to awake?

Death? Lack of awareness of the presence and import of God, or the nearness of the Kingdom? Or a nightmare of fear and alienation?

And what is the glory to which we awake? Confidence? Reconciliation? Healing? Awe at the majesty and compassion of God?

  • How does that new wakefulness impact your life?
  • And those around you?

Christ in Glory. Pushkin Museum, Moscow. Photo (c) 2015, Allen Morris.

One thought on “Speak Lord: wake us to your glory

Leave a Reply

