Taste and See: newness and hope.

onwards-and-upwards

The psalm sung yesterday, the 24th Sunday of the Year, invites us to prepare to come to God.

I will leave this place and go to my father.

Have mercy on me, God, in your kindness.
In your compassion blot out my offence.
O wash me more and more from my guilt
and cleanse me from my sin.

I will leave this place and go to my father.

A pure heart create for me, O God,
put a steadfast spirit within me.
Do not cast me away from your presence,
nor deprive me of your holy spirit.

I will leave this place and go to my father.

O Lord, open my lips
and my mouth shall declare your praise.
My sacrifice is a contrite spirit.
A humbled, contrite heart you will not spurn.

I will leave this place and go to my father.

Psalm 50:3-4,12-13,17,19

The response anticipates the words of the prodigal son (heard in the Gospel of the Day, when he realises the consequences of his actions.

It also has a direct relationship to our own lives. We will leave this place, this world, when death comes, and we hope and pray that, when we do, we will indeed go to our Father.

The psalm prepares us for that day. First, it has us turn to the Father and address him in humility, and in hope of mercy. Second, it has us look to God for help in repentance and renewal. Third, it has us ask God to help us to find a voice with which to praise him…

  • For what do you need the Lord’s mercy?
  • In what do you wish to be made new?
  • For what, today, would you praise God?

Onwards and upwards. London. (c) 2012, Allen Morris.

One thought on “Taste and See: newness and hope.

Leave a Reply

