Speak Lord:

Angels, Notre Dame, LondonThe psalm for tomorrow, the last Sunday before Lent, the fifth Sunday of the Year, is a song of communion.

The psalmist sings before the world – its kings and peoples, before the angels, and before God of God’s faithfulness and love and care.

Can world, kings, angels remain silent. Surely not…

Before the angels I will bless you, O Lord.

I thank you, Lord, with all my heart:
you have heard the words of my mouth.
In the presence of the angels I will bless you.
I will adore before your holy temple.

Before the angels I will bless you, O Lord.

I thank you for your faithfulness and love,
which excel all we ever knew of you.
On the day I called, you answered;
you increased the strength of my soul.

Before the angels I will bless you, O Lord.

All earth’s kings shall thank you
when they hear the words of your mouth.
They shall sing of the Lord’s ways:
‘How great is the glory of the Lord!’

Before the angels I will bless you, O Lord.

You stretch out your hand and save me,
your hand will do all things for me.
Your love, O Lord, is eternal,
discard not the work of your hands.

Before the angels I will bless you, O Lord.

Psalm 137:1-5,7-8

Will we sing? Will we sing the psalm at Mass – or will it be said? And will we respond in word or song with gusto, or not.

The scriptures set before us attitudes and modes of relationship. It is for us to make them their own. And if we do not, if we do not join the song, the praise, where does that leave us?

In these last days before Lent, that is a good question to ponder? Where do we find ourselves – joined with the prayer of the Church active in our part; or on the outside looking in?

  • If the latter do we know there is an alternative? That we are invited in?
  • If we are in, do we still count our blessings?

Detail of mural by Jean Cocteau, Notre Dame de France, London. (c) 2007, Allen Morris.

One thought on “Speak Lord:

Leave a Reply

