Taste and See: The faithfulness of the Lord

Christ at the Pillar, Arles 2014The first reading of the Mass of Palm Sunday was taken from the prophet Isaiah.

The passage comes from the so-called Third Song of the servant.  In it we hear the suffering servant speak grateful for the faithfulness of the Lord, and his gifts, even as he suffers for his own faithfulness to the Lord.

The Lord has given me a disciple’s tongue.
So that I may know how to reply to the wearied he provides me with speech.
Each morning he wakes me to hear, to listen like a disciple.
The Lord has opened my ear.
For my part, I made no resistance, neither did I turn away.
I offered my back to those who struck me, my cheeks to those who tore at my beard; I did not cover my face against insult and spittle.
The Lord comes to my help, so that I am untouched by the insults.
So, too, I set my face like flint; I know I shall not be shamed.

Isaiah 50:4-7

At this time hundreds in the diocese of Westminster alone are j in the final stages og their preparation for initiation into the Way of Christian discipleship, being readied for Baptism, Confirmation, and Eucharist. During the catechumenate, their principal time of preparation, they will surely have already encountered many ups and downs in the way of faith.

But who knows what lies ahead of them?

  • Pray for them in the coming days as they make their final preparation.
  • Pray for their openness of heart and for their courage in the days, months, and years that lie ahead.

Image of Christ at the pillar, Cloister of St Trophime, Arles. (c) 2014, Allen Morris.

One thought on “Taste and See: The faithfulness of the Lord

Leave a Reply

