Taste and See: The love of the Lord is forever.

David's Tomb

The psalm at Sunday’s Mass, the 4th Sunday of Advent, picks up the Lord’s promise to David, and makes it reason not only for David’s giving thanks, but our joining him in giving praise.

I will sing for ever of your love, O Lord.

I will sing for ever of your love, O Lord;
through all ages my mouth will proclaim your truth.
Of this I am sure, that your love lasts for ever,
that your truth is firmly established as the heavens.

‘I have made a covenant with my chosen one;
I have sworn to David my servant:
I will establish your dynasty for ever
and set up your throne through all ages.

‘He will say to me: “You are my father,
my God, the rock who saves me.”
I will keep my love for him always;
with him my covenant shall last.’

I will sing for ever of your love, O Lord.

Psalm 88:2-5,27,29

We are the present recipients of the fulfilment of the promises to David. Promises fulfilled not by an earthly kingdom and royal lineage, but by the eternal kingship of Christ crucified and risen again, and promising to be with us for ever.

In the mystery of God’s love even we finite creatures are on the threshold of eternal life. The love of God calls us to life and offers to hold us to this life for ever.

Photograph of the sarcophagus venerated on Mount Zion as the Tomb of David.  (c) 2013, Allen Morris.

 

Leave a Reply

